Pinebox Entertainment has ruled, that this card only interacts with effects that "take" ghost rock, but not ones that tell you to "pay" or "give" ghost rock. As of this writing, there is only one card in the game that says to "take" ghost rock and that is This is a Holdup!
So unfortunately, the effect of this card is kind of useless. It may be worthwhile due to paying for itself and then some over two turns, having two Control Points, and being a good value Dead Man's Hand and Kung Fu decks. But it might as well be a blank Public deed given that the only card it affects is so rarely played.